Get unlimited & exclusive access to market insights,
jobs and news articles plus subscriber benefits and more.

ASB MAGAZINE: The International Surfing Association (ISA) today welcomes and celebrates the confirmation from the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board of Surfing on the Paris 2024 Olympic Games Programme – with Tahiti as the selected location. The IOC decision is a significant milestone in the sport’s journey to long-term, permanent inclusion in the Olympic Programme.



The world-renowned reef break, Teahupo’o, where the Paris 2024 Olympic Surfing event will take place, is recognised for its truly extraordinary, optimal conditions and will be an exceptional platform for the sport, allowing the world’s best athletes to shine.

Sustainability was always a key consideration for the ISA and the IOC in the selection of Tahiti, with the bespoke concept promising to deliver a sustainable and low carbon impact event ensuring the natural environment of the island is preserved.

The Olympic Surfing event in Tahiti will build on Surfing’s debut at Tokyo 2020 next year and will provide a truly authentic surfing experience. As a world-renowned surf location, the Paris 2024 competition in Tahiti will pay homage to the culture and heritage of the sport, as well as to the key role that Teahupo’o plays in modern surf culture.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“Surfing is perfect for the new era of the Games and selecting our sport for the Olympic Programme – with Tahiti as the venue – is testimony to Paris 2024’s creative and inclusive spirit.   This decision also aligns with the IOC’s wider objective to apply new, innovative approaches to Games hosting.

“We are excited to be part of the Olympic journey to 2024 with the IOC and Paris, and we believe we have generated great momentum now for Surfing’s long-term, permanent inclusion in the Olympic Programme.

“The conditions at Teahupo’o offer an amazing performance wave that will excite athletes and captivate fans. Elite surfers – men and women – compete here regularly and are eager to compete for Olympic glory at Teahupo’o. With 22 men and 22 women surfers, we are happy to reaffirm our total commitment to gender equality and fair sport.

“We’re excited to work in close collaboration with our friends at Paris 2024, and to delivering an event in line with their vision for a truly spectacular Olympic Games. With Teahupo’o as the backdrop, we have no doubt the Games will leave a legacy that touches generations for years to come.”

Chair of the ISA Athletes’ Commission, Justine Dupont said:

“As an athlete there is no greater achievement than competing at the Olympic Games and amongst the surfers there is huge excitement about Paris 2024, especially with Tahiti as the location.

In surfing, Teahupo’o is a sacred place, rich in history and tradition and without a doubt, one of the most exciting, consistent waves in the world for our sport.

“I know I can speak on behalf of my fellow surfers in saying that we can’t wait to showcase our sport in Tahiti at the Paris Games in 2024.”


About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).